There has been some compulsory and severe minimum penalties if you have been convicted for driving under influence (DUI) in Virginia. The penalties for a first DUI offense in Virginia could include fines, imprisonment, suspension of driving license, payment of court fees, admission in Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) Virginia, installation of ignition interlock if driver requests for a restricted license.
Following are the further details of the penalties for a first DUI offense in Virginia
If you have been convicted of DUI offense in Virginia for the first time, the penalty for a first DUI offense in Virginia includes an essential fine of minimum $ 250 fine, however this penalty of fine could be extended to $ 2500 subject to the consequences of driving under influence (DUI) such as an accident causing injury or damage to a property. Along with that, the penalty for a first DUI offense in Virginia would generally include some additional suspension fine above the essential minimum fine. Under the circumstance where you might be driving under influence with a minor of an age of under 17 years, then you would be required to pay additional fine, which could be from $ 500 to $ 1000.
A first DUI offense in Virginia is considered as a Class 1 offense and under Virginia law the punishment of Class 1 offense could be up to an imprisonment for up to a year. While there is no essential minimum duration for imprisonment as the penalty for a first DUI offense in Virginia but an essential minimum active imprisonment could be imposed by the court on the basis of aggravating factors such as high blood alcohol content (BAC) level or if the offender is driving along with a minor under the age of 17.
Suspension of Driving License
The penalty for a first DUI offense in Virginia includes a direct suspension of the driving license for a period of a week if you have been arrested for DUI with the BAC level above .08 or you refuses for a Breathalyzer test. This suspension of driving license is identified as administrative suspension under the code 46.2-391.2. If you are convicted, the penalty for first DUI offense in Virginia would include the suspension of your driving license for a period of 12 months under code 18.2-271(A).
Payment of Court Fees
The penalties for a first DUI offense in Virginia would also require you to pay the court fees and if you fail to pay, the consequence would be a much longer suspension of driving license.
Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) Virginia
As a penalty for a first DUI offense in Virginia, the convicted driver would be required to attend the Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) Virginia. ASAP would require a mandatory attendance to their weekly sessions, random testing for alcohol and drugs and the payment of the program fees.
You could request for a restricted license, which would require you to get installed an ignition interlock along with the participation in ASAP. This would allow you to drive to some selected places.
If you’ve been charged with your first DUI offense in Virginia, you must consider getting legal advice from our well versed lawyer in Virginia DUI case law at SRIS Law Group, P.C.
Call us at 888-437-7747